Skip to content ↓

Governing Board

Members and Trustees

The Members of the Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls Academy Trust (the “Academy Trust”) are a small body whose responsibility it is to have an oversight of the school’s affairs. The Members’ primary responsibilities are approving the annual audited accounts and re-appointing the school’s statutory auditors. 

The Trustees of the Academy Trust are the Governing Board, with whom ultimate responsibility and accountability for the day to day running of the school lies.

The role of the Governing Board

The Governing Board at Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent and its assets are used effectively.

Who are the Governors?

The Governors are a group of individuals with a broad mix of skills, knowledge and experience, and with a strong commitment to the school and its pupils. The Governors are drawn from the parents, the staff and the community. 

The current Governors of Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls are:

Charlotte Senior - Chair of Governors (Community Governor)


Hannah Tipper - Vice Chair (Community Governor)


Matthew Cannan (Community Governor)


James Dixon (Parent Governor)


Antony Maguire (Staff Governor)

Steve Millman (Community Governor)


Mike Overton (Parent Governor)


Barbara Minards - Headteacher


Natalie Ball (Parent Governor)


Matthew Jeavons (Co-opted Governor)

Helen Booth (Parent Governor)

Shaistah Zeidan (Parent Governor)

Ranbir Dhesi (Community Governor)

Awaiting photograph

Pete Dragoonis (Community Governor)

Jack Carnell (Community Governor)

The structure of the Governing Board

In order to carry out our role efficiently and effectively, the detailed work of the Governing Board is delegated to and undertaken by several committees, which are sub-committees of the main Board of Trustees. In addition to attending the Full Governing Board meetings, all governors sit on at least one sub-committee. The sub-committees report back to termly meetings of the Full Governing Board at which broader issues are discussed and agreed.

Finance Committee (Chair – Hannah Tipper)

It is a requirement of all academy trusts’ funding agreements to follow the Academy Trust Handbook, which sets out duties in relation to governance and financial oversight, alongside a structure of delegated authorities. The Finance Committee is responsible for ensuring that the requirements of the Academy Trust Handbook are met by the school, and that appropriate financial policy, planning and oversight is in place.

The Finance Committee will also ensure that the school’s assets and funds are used only in accordance with legislation, the Articles of Association, their funding agreement and the Academy Trust Handbook. 

Operations Committee (Chair – Michael Overton)

Academy trusts are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school land and buildings, as well as the health and safety of pupils and staff. The Operations Committee will be responsible for all matters relating to the operational running of the school land and buildings, as well as oversight of the school catering provision and the school’s digital requirements.

Curriculum Committee (Chair – Steve Millman)

The Curriculum Committee is responsible for ensuring that the school curriculum (in line with the Education Act 2002, s78) is balanced and broadly based, and:

  • Promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society, and
  • Prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.

Welfare and Access Committee (Chair – James Dixon)

The Governing Board has a responsibility under the Education Act 2002 and under statutory guidance to ensure that the school has effective safeguarding policies and procedures in place. The Governing Board also has a duty to oversee the welfare of pupils and staff.

The Welfare and Access Committee is responsible for ensuring compliance with all current guidance and legislation on the welfare of staff and pupils, together with ensuring the school’s compliance with child protection and safeguarding regulations. It also has oversight of matters relating to staff CPD and appraisal and PSHE provision within the school, as well as overseeing all access and inclusion matters.

Pay Committee

The Pay Committee is responsible for matters relating to remuneration of staff, the Headteacher’s objectives and performance and undertaking an annual review of staff salaries.

Other statutory committees

  • Complaints Committee
  • 'First Committee'
  • Appeals Committee

When the Governors meet

A calendar of meetings is established for each school year. Typically the full Governing Board meets four times during the year, with powers delegated to the sub-committees. The Curriculum Committee, Operations Committee and Welfare and Access Committee meet once per term, and the Finance Committee meets every half-term. The Pay Committee meets as necessary to fulfil its delegated responsibilities: typically three times in the autumn term and once in the spring term. The Governors of extra-statutory committees can and do meet at other times if needs arise.

A summary of meeting attendance for 2019-20 can be downloaded here.

A summary of meeting attendance for 2020-21 can be downloaded here.

This document also has information regarding the Register of Interests.

Governing Board procedures and Terms of Reference

The Governing Board procedures and Terms of Reference booklet for 2021-22 can be downloaded here.

Governing Board Code of Conduct

The Governing Board Code of Conduct (and information regarding the Register of Interests) can be downloaded here.

Contact the Governors

The Governors welcome and value comments on the school. Please contact the Chair of Governors in writing:

The Chair of Governors,
c/o Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls,
Jockey Road,
Sutton Coldfield.
B73 5PT

or by email

Are you interested in joining the Governing Board?

The Governing Board is a dynamic structure, which relies on a continuing influx of members to replace those who retire at the end of their term of office. New Governors ensure diversity, fresh opinions, new views and ideas, and ensure that the strategy and direction of the school remains relevant to the needs of the students and community.

There are different categories of Governor, and vacancies in each category are filled in different ways. Where Parent Governor vacancies arise, letters are sent to parents of current students to invite applications to commence the process.

If you feel you may wish to become a future Governor, please contact Mrs Charlotte Senior, the Chair of Governors.