Skip to content ↓

Governing Body

Members and Trustees

The Members of the Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls Academy Trust (the “Academy Trust”) are a small body whose responsibility it is to have an oversight of the school’s affairs. The Members’ primary responsibilities are approving the annual audited accounts and re-appointing the school’s statutory auditors. 

The Trustees of the Academy Trust are the Governing Body, with whom ultimate responsibility and accountability for the day to day running of the school lies.

The role of the Governing Body

The Governing Body at Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent and its assets are used effectively.

Who are the Governors?

The Governors are a group of individuals with a broad mix of skills, knowledge and experience, and with a strong commitment to the school and its pupils. The Governors are drawn from the parents, the staff and the community. 

The current Governors of Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls are:

Charlotte Senior - Chair of Governors (Community Governor)


Hannah Tipper - Vice Chair (Community Governor)


Nick Tuton - Vice Chair (Co-opted Governor)


Mark Allwood (Community Governor)


Sarah Bower (Co-opted Governor)


Jo Boyle (Staff Governor)


Matthew Cannan (Community Governor)


James Dixon (Parent Governor)


Carolyn Gudmunsen (Staff Governor)


Nicky Lloyd (Co-opted Governor)


Antony Maguire (Staff Governor)


Ruth McIntosh (Staff Governor)


Steve Millman (Community Governor)


Mike Overton (Parent Governor)


Bob Pattni - Parent Governor

Waiting on image

Barbara Minards - Headteacher


The structure of the Governing Body

In order to carry out our role efficiently and effectively, the detailed work of the Governing Body is delegated to and undertaken by three committees, which are sub-committees of the main Board of Trustees. In addition to attending the Full Governing Body meetings, all governors sit on at least one sub-committee. The sub-committees report back to termly meetings of the Full Governing Body at which broader issues are discussed and agreed.

Finance and Premises Committee (Chair – Mark Allwood)

The purpose of the Finance and Premises Committee is to oversee and scrutinise the financial procedures, regulations and management of the Academy Trust’s financial budget and to oversee the management of the school facilities. It reports directly to the Board of Trustees and accounts for their review of the financial statements, budgeting and value for money, and monitor, review and evaluate financial propriety.  

Curriculum Committee (Chair – Steve Millman)

The purpose of the Curriculum Committee is to ensure compliance with the statutory requirements of the curriculum from Years 7-13.

Personnel Committee (Chair – Nick Tuton)

The purpose of the Personnel Committee is to ensure compliance with all current statutory Human Resources guidance and legislation on the welfare of staff and students, together with ensuring compliance for child protection and safeguarding.

Pay Committee and Headteacher’s Performance Committee

The Pay Committee and the Headteacher’s Performance Committee are sub-committees of the Personnel Committee, responsible for matters relating to remuneration of staff, the Headteacher’s objectives and performance, the staffing structure of the school and for undertaking an annual review of teachers’ salaries.

Other statutory committees

  • Complaints Committee
  • 'First Committee'
  • Appeals Committee

When the Governors meet

A calendar of meetings is established for each school year. Typically the full Governing Body meets once per term, with powers delegated to the sub-committees which meet a minimum of once per term. The Governors of extra statutory committees can and do meet at other times if needs arise.

Governing Body procedures and Terms of Reference

The Governing Body procedures and Terms of Reference booklet for 2017-18 can be downloaded here.

Governing Body Code of Conduct

The Governing Body Code of Conduct (and information regarding the Register of Interests) can be downloaded here.

Contact the Governors

The Governors welcome and value comments on the school. Please contact the Chair of Governors in writing:

The Chair of Governors,
c/o Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls,
Jockey Road,
Sutton Coldfield.
B73 5PT

or by email

Are you interested in joining the Governing Body?

The Governing Body is a dynamic structure, which relies on a continuing influx of members to replace those who retire at the end of their term of office. New Governors ensure diversity, fresh opinions, new views and ideas, and ensure that the strategy and direction of the school remains relevant to the needs of the students and community.

There are different categories of Governor, and vacancies in each category are filled in different ways. Where Parent Governor vacancies arise, letters are sent to parents of current students to invite applications to commence the process.

If you feel you may wish to become a future Governor, please contact Mrs Charlotte Senior, the Chair of Governors.